Easter Recap and Breakfast

I have a lotttttt to catch up on. I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter! To be honest, I was feeling pretty down yesterday. As graduation nears, I find myself getting more and more anxious to be back home with my family. With the high gas prices and the fact that I had only been back at school for a few days, I opted not to go home for Easter.
It was harder than I thought it would be. I hated the thought of my families all getting together to celebrate while I was so far away. For that reason, I decided to keep off the blog for the day.

The day was pretty uneventful. I really just hung out with the boyfriend and watched Game of Thrones to prepare for the season 3 premiere that was on last night (!!!!).

For breakfast, I literally whipped up some cottage cheese, greek yogurt, cocoa powder, almond milk and a handful of spinach in my Magic Bullet. I also added some Xanthan gum for thickness. I poured it over some quinoa and sprinkled it with flax, strawberries and sautéed bananas.

photo_3

photo_4I wish I had something more festive for you, but honestly I forgot it was Easter when I woke up. Not being with family really put me in a funk!

Since I’m new at this, I forgot to take a picture of my lunch. But it was a pretty typical salad for me so you’ll be seeing it a lot. I’m a huge fan of warm toppings on a lettuce base.

Yesterday’s had:

  • A combination of chopped romaine and baby spinach with apple cider vinegar
  • Sauteed black beans, brussels sprouts, cabbage, peppers, onions and peas tossed in nutritional yeast
  • About 1/4 sliced avocado
  • Last, I drizzled the whole salad with some tahini and Sriracha

We didn’t feel like being completely lazy and wanted to at least do something for Easter, so the boyfriend and I got a little dressed up and went to Ruby Tuesday’s. This was for two reasons- 1) it’s one of the only restaurants in Oswego and 2) we had a coupon.

photo

After my trip to the salad bar! Dim lighting + cell phone= not a great quality photo. Oh well.

For my entree, I did something I never would have done a couple weeks ago. I ordered steak!

photo_5Not the best looking plate of food, but still delicious!

I feel like I have some kind of red meat phobia and barely ever eat it. After last night, I’m wondering why this is. It was delicious and I’m so happy I listened to my cravings and ordered what I wanted! I was also in the mood for something saucy, so I got spaghetti squash with marinara as one of my sides. I also went crazy at the all you can eat salad bar.

After dinner, we went to his house where we watched the Game of Thrones premiere and I feasted on my night time snack- Chocolate Arctic Zero topped with healthy chocolate- peanut butter sauce adapted from Heather (cocoa powder+peanut flour+water+stevia), frozen raspberries that I microwaved and some unsweetened coconut. Not a bad way to end my day!


Breakfast

I think mother nature has pulled a April Fool’s joke on us all. It has been so beautiful out lately and today is just… not. Rainy, cold, cloudy, gloomy, depressing. Yuck. This kind of day only calls for one thing…

photo_2

Oatmeal!

Peanut Butter and Berry TVP “Oatmeal”

(adapted from Laura’s recipe)

  • 1/2 cup TVP
  • 2 T oats
  • 1 tsp ground flax
  • 1.25 cups water
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup frozen berries (I used mixed berries)
  • 1 T peanut flour (or peanut butter)
  • More berries or toppings of your choice!

In a saucepan, combine water, TVP, oats, flax, cinnamon and vanilla and bring to a boil

Reduce heat and cook until all the liquid is absorbed. Stirring constantly, add egg whites and cook for an additional 2 minutes.

Next, add frozen berries and cook for 3-4 minutes. The berries will begin to cook down and will turn the oats a slightly purple color.

Mix the peanut flour with desired amount of water (I did slightly more than 1 T) and drizzle over the oats. Add more berries, coconut or whatever your little heart desires!

photo_1

2 thoughts on “Easter Recap and Breakfast

  1. Aww, sorry to hear you couldn’t be with your family for the holiday, but it still sounds like you and the bf had a good time! All the food looks delicious! I go absolutely NUTS on the RT salad bar too! Last time I was there, I got like 3 plates! haha! And yeah, you KNOW I totally approve of that nighttime treat…Arctic Zero for the win!! ;D

    Good for you for listening to that craving girl! Give that body what it wants!!

Leave a Reply

