Apple Protein Pancakes

Or as I like to call them.. “Not Quite Apple Crisp but Still Amazing Pancakes”

Yesterday, I talked about my surprising apple crisp- like snack. When I woke up I was craving similar flavors, but I also really wanted pancakes. And then I thought.. That could work…

100_1441

And that’s how I ended up with these mouth watering pancakes that didn’t quite taste like my snack yesterday, but were definitely a breakfast worth sharing with you all!

…Don’t let the picture fool you. Those are apples on top, not peaches. Hmph.

Apple Protein Pancakes

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup TVP
  • 1 T coconut flour
  • 1 T ground flax seed
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 small apple, chopped

Heat a coated skillet on medium heat.

Combine the first 3 ingredients in a small bowl. When thoroughly mixed, add TVP, flour, flax and cinnamon. Gently stir and then blend with an immersion blender for a couple minutes until the mixture is smooth.

Funny story about the immersion blender. I used to see recipes that required the use of one, and always thought I couldn’t make it because I didn’t have an immersion blender (or even knew what it looked like!). And then one day it occurred to me that maybe that weird thing in my cupboard that looked like a blender that you immersed into things was called an immersion blender… GENIUS! Definitely a blonde moment of mine, but now I can happily make all the immersion blending recipes I want. Yay!

Ok so where were we? Oh, right..

PANCAKES!

I only made 2 pancakes, but I’d suggest making 3-4 smaller ones. When it came time to flip, the edges were falling off the spatula and I almost ended up with an apple pancake scramble. Cook for about 5 minutes on one side, flip and cook for an additional 3-4 minutes.

When cooked, top with chopped apple (raw or cooked, whichever you prefer) and maple syrup. You could also try putting the apple inside the pancakes!

100_1442

I’m off to have a productive Friday afternoon!

Leave a Reply

